Georgia’s 6th Congressional District special election, 2017

The 6th Congressional District of Georgia will hold a special election for the U.S. House of Representatives on April 18, 2017

Join the campaign!
We’re going to need your support to flip the Georgia Sixth and win this election. Sign up below to receive updates about how you can help. (You can unsubscribe at any time.)

April 12th – Local Phone Banking for John Ossoff
4 pm – La Jolla Palms: 3535 Lebon Dr, SD, 92122
(go upstairs to the clubhouse)

The election will replace Tom Price (R), who was confirmed as U.S. secretary of health and human services. Prior to his cabinet appointment, Price represented the 6th District from 2004 to 2017.  A traditional primary election will not be held in the race. Instead, all candidates will compete in the same general election on April 18, 2017. If no candidate receives at least 50 percent of the vote, the top two, regardless of party affiliation, will advance to the runoff election on June 20. With so many candidates in the race, a runoff election is almost assured.

The general election will be the second congressional election since Donald Trump’s election to the presidency in November 2016.

The Congressional Leadership Fund, a Republican super PAC, also began spending in the race by launching a $1.1 million ad campaign targeting the Democratic front-runner in the race, Jon Ossoff.

According to the few polls released thus far, Ossoff narrowly leads the field. He is closely trailed by the three Republican front-runners in the race, former Georgia Secretary of State Karen Handel, businessman Bob Gray, and state Sen. Judson Hill. The most likely scenario for the runoff will be a competition between a Republican and a Democrat. This will likely lead to a contentious and expensive race.

General Election    Runoff Election
April 18, 2017           June 20, 2017

Primary candidates:
Ragin Edwards
Richard Keatley
Jon Ossoff
Rebecca Quigg
Ron Slotin – Former state sen.

David Abroms
Mohammad Ali Bhuiyan
Keith Grawert
Bob Gray
Karen Handel – Former Georgia Secretary of State
Judson Hill – State Sen.
Amy Kremer
Bruce LeVell – Head of Donald Trump’s national diversity coalition
William Llop
Dan Moody – Former state sen.
Kurt Wilson

Third Party/Other
Alexander Hernandez (Independent)
Andre Pollard (Independent)

Donate to Democratic Contender Jon Ossoff for Congress
Inside the Georgia 6th Congressional District Election
Special Election Information,_2017